About the Council

The Governor's Workforce Development Council works to strengthen the skills of Minnesota's greatest asset — its workforce.


Made up of leaders from business, education, labor, community organizations, and state and local governments, the GWDC forges practical solutions to Minnesota’s workforce challenges and provides leadership on initiatives that are of strategic importance to the state.


The Council ensures employers play an active role in improving education and training programs, and provides a venue for the workforce stakeholders to build a shared vision and strategic alliances.


The GWDC is Minnesota’s state Workforce Investment Board, mandated by Section 111 of the federal Workforce Investment Act of 1998 and further defined by Minnesota Statutes §166L.665. The GWDC By-Laws provide additional guidance to Council's activities.


Our Vision

Minnesota’s public, private and community resources are strategically aligned to competitively position our citizens and businesses for increased and sustained economic prosperity.


Our Mission

The GWDC’s mission is to analyze and recommend workforce development policies to the governor and legislature toward talent development, resource alignment and system effectiveness to ensure a globally competitive workforce for Minnesota.



GWDC Membership

Council membership is dictated by state statute to include the following sectors: business and industry, community-based organizations, education, local government, organized labor, state agencies, and the state legislature.


Twenty-eight GWDC members are appointed by the Governor and serve terms three years in length starting on the first of July or January following the appointment. Two State Representatives and two State Senators are appointed to the GWDC by their majority and minority leaders.


Council Members

Laura Beeth, Chair

System Director, Talent Acquisition

Fairview Health Services
Twyla Flaws, Vice-Chair Manager, Human Resources
Clow Stamping Company
Rita Albrecht Mayor City of Bemidji
Mo Amundson Owner and Consultant Education-To-Careers
Brenda Cassellius Commissioner Minnesota Department of Education
Katie Clark Sieben Commissioner Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development
Steven Ditschler President and CEO ProAct, Inc.
Bob Gunther Representative (Majority Representative) Minnesota House of Representatives
Russell Hess Political Coordinator

Laborers District Council

John Hoffman Senator (Majority Representative) Minnesota Senate
Lorrie Janatopoulos Planning Director Arrowhead Economic Opportunity Agency
Lucinda Jesson Commissioner
Department of Human Services
Eric Kaler President University of Minnesota
Elizabeth Kautz Mayor City of Burnsville
Shar Knutson President Minnesota AFL-CIO
Sanjay Kuba Executive Consultant SK & Associates & Par Systems
Nan Larson

Rural Innovation Network & Convening Director Agricultural Utilization Research Institute
LaRohn Latimer

IMPACT Program Specialist

YWCA, St. Paul
Ruby Lee President Comunidades Latinas Unidas En Servicio (CLUES)
Larry Mareck President Central Minnesota Building & Construction Trade Council
Harry D. Melander Jr. President Minnesota State Building & Construction Trade Council
Natasha Mortenson Agriculture Teacher and FFA Advisor Morris Area High School
Marlene Moulton Janssen Director Anoka County Library
Carla Nelson Senator Minnesota Senate
Eric Nesheim Executive Director Minnesota Literacy Council
Scott Parker Business Representative

Internatinal Union of Painters and Allied Trades

Edward Reynoso Political Director Teamsters Joint Council 32
Steven Rosenstone Chancellor Minnesota State College and Universities
Mary Russell Director, Organization Effectiveness and Leadership Support HealthPartners
Dennis Siemer President and CEO V-Tek Incorporated
Roy Smith Director, Workforce Development Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board
David Ulrich Vice President of Human Resources Twin Metals Minnesota
Rich Wagner President Dunwoody College of Technology

Download the GWDC roster


Skills at the Center

All Hands on Deck


Minnesota FastTRAC

A Guide to the GWDC

State Energy Sector Partnership

Track Our Progress

Net Impact